The Food Saver

If you read yesterday then you know my barely contained excitement about my new food saver.  It charged overnight and I was able to try it out today.  To be clear, what I have is the Fresh Saver from Food Saver.  I’m not quite ready to commit the $80 for the whole Food Saver system.  I’m just not sure exactly how much I’m going to use it.  I have to say though, it’s wicked easy!  The difference between the Fresh Saver and the Food Saver is that the Fresh Saver uses zipper bags that can be opened and resealed.  The Food Saver uses open ended bags or rolls of plastic that once opened (usually with scissors) cannot be resealed.  They advertise the Fresh Saver as a way to store cheese and lunch meat in the fridge.  It’s not necessarily intended for long term freezer storage.  Only time will tell.

So here’s the deal.  You can get bags in quart or gallon size.  You put the food in the bag; lay it flat; press the Fresh Saver onto the clearly marked green circle; and push the button.  It sucks out all the air.  Done!  A few notes.  First, you can’t fill the bags all the way full because you have to be able to press the gizmo down on a flat surface.  Second, you can’t have liquid in the bag.  If you draw any liquid through the green circle the bag won’t stay sealed.  So when you blanch your veggies just pat them dry before you bag them.  I’m thinking this probably means that it won’t work on small batches of peeled tomatoes.  It works really well for flat and regularly shaped packages.  It was terrific with corn and the wide flat green beans that I grow here.  Not quite as good with the rounder Blue Lake green beans that you get most places.  It worked pretty well with the blackberries.  I didn’t get quite as good a seal on the blackberries I’d frozen previously, but they didn’t get crushed either.  When I did the fresh blackberries it sealed really well, but the berries started to squish.  Be careful about that so you don’t draw any juice through the magic circle and mess up the seal.  Finally, remember to label your bags before you stuff and seal them.  That may seem obvious, but I’m betting that at least once you’ll realize you’ve sealed a full, unlabeled bag.  It’s pretty hard to write on vacuum packed blackberries.

Overall I give it a B+ right now.  It’s easy and it’s fast and it’s kind of fun!  On a hot summer day it sure beats pulling out the whole canning pot and various accoutrement.  This strikes me as a terrific way to save a lot of the stuff that you bought, but realize you won’t have time to cook before it goes bad.  I anticipate that it will help me toward my goal to eliminate food waste.  Also seems like a great way to save the rest of that $17 block of cheese that you bought for a recipe that called for only half of the amount you bought.  That said, what really counts is how good these veggies are when I pull them out of the freezer in October or January.  I’ll try to keep an eye on them and use them immediately if they show signs of distress.  So stay tuned.

One Response to “The Food Saver”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Thanks for posting this…I might just have to put the Fresh Saver on my wish list. Seems more up my alley than the Food Saver, although I’m sure it would be nice to have.

Leave a Reply

