Pork Tacos – Ole!

It’s pretty rare that I use my Crock Pot in the summer, but I’m pretty glad that I did last night.  A recent weekly You’ve Got Supper email included a recipe for Cuban Roast Pork.  It’s not very Cuban, but it’s good!  Cuban roast pork is much drier, saltier and smokier than this.  Anyway, things lined up just right this week.  Kroger had Picnic Shoulder on sale; I saw this recipe; there’s nothing on TV anyway and if I spend more time in the kitchen that’s less time I spend working nights.  All good.  Of course I had to buy the whole shoulder so even after using 3 pounds for this I had 4 pounds left.  I cut the remaining 4 pounds into one pound pieces and put them in the freezer downstairs for some other day.

I followed the recipe almost exactly.  I couldn’t find a small enough jar of apricot preserves and since I’ll likely not need them again for a year or so the smallness of the jar was a big factor in the purchase.  I found a small jar of apricot and peach preserves and that seemed close enough.  The recipe recommends that you trim all the fat off of the pork.  Be a little liberal with that.  Remember that fat equals flavor so trim away, but leave a little behind.  The onions caramelize really nicely as the meat cooks.  Next time I might add just a drop or two of liquid smoke to enhance the flavor a little.

One other thing I’d do differently. I started the Crock Pot before bed. Not a good idea. I woke up more than once smelling yummy roast pork. Next time I’d prep everything the night before and store it in the fridge until morning. So, start the Crock Pot before you leave for work. Just my recommendation.

If you’re going to make tacos with this I recommend using leaf lettuce instead of shredded or chopped.  Line your tortilla or taco shell with the lettuce. This will keep the taco from getting too soggy as you eat.  This is really juicy meat.  That’s what makes it yummy!  I made my tacos with just leaf lettuce and fresh guacamole.

Good? Yes.
Easy? Definitely. Crock Pots make everything easy.
Good for company? Yep. This has party written all over it.
Special shopping? Nope.

Slow Cooked Cuban Pork Tacos

INGREDIENTS
• 3 1/2 lb pork shoulder
• 3 tsp cumin
• 1/2 cup(s) apricot preserves
• 2 jalapeno pepper(s), seeded
• 1 red onion, coarsely chopped
• 12 tortillas
• 1 lime(s), sliced
• 1/2 head iceberg lettuce, chopped

DIRECTIONS
. Coat slow cooker with cooking spray. Add pork (try to trim the pork of all the fat or use pork loin) and rub on all sides with cumin. Season generously with kosher salt and pepper. Spread apricot preserves over top.

2. Remove seeds and ribs from jalapenos. Slice. Roughly chop red onion. Add jalapenos and red onion to slow cooker.

3. Roast until extremely tender, practically falling off the bone (about 6 hours on high). Remove pork. Shred with a fork. Return to pot and mix will all of the juices.

4. Spoon mixture into each tortilla with a slotted spoon. Top with shredded lettuce. Squeeze lime juice on top and serve.

2 Responses to “Pork Tacos – Ole!”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    I love the crock pot and love to try new recipes in it. It’s my savior during the school year since I typically use it twice, sometimes three times a week, for walk-in-the-door-and-eat dinners. Can’t wait to try this!

    I know what you mean about smelling it….I work from home and even when I start something in the morning, I smell it all day. Sometimes it makes me hungry all day; other times I’m so tired of the smell by dinnertime that I’ve lost my appetite (rarely…).

  2. Giselle Says:

    I made this today — it was delicious! Huge hit with the family – even the kids liked it. Thanks for your site — I’ve been following it and have found some great recipes for my files. I tried the ‘pad thai’, too — delicious!

Leave a Reply

