Mojito Grilled Chicken

I needed a little protein on the side of my Farmer’s Market Salad so I continued in my pursuit of new ways to make chicken.  I found a recipe for Grilled Chicken Mojito Sandwiches.  Seemed like I could do the chicken part and leave the rest out.  Have to say I was pretty underwhelmed by this.  I have to imagine it’s better in sandwich form with what looks to be a yummy dressing.  That said I think the inspiration is good.

I like my mojitos on the sweet side so maybe I was expecting that.  Really this was just grilled chicken with kind of a lime flavor.  Not much of the mint or rum came through.  Maybe next time I’ll make a sweet rum and lime glaze  instead.  One note, remember not to marinate the chicken longer than 10-15 minutes.  The citrus in the lime juice cooks the chicken and it will be rubbery if you leave it too long. Also, be sure you use fresh mint. There’s really no substitute. If you don’t have any come on over to my house and get some. The herb garden out front is loaded with the sweetest spearmint you’ve ever tasted.

Good? Meh.
Easy? What’s easier than grilled chicken?
Good for Company? Meh.
Special shopping? Probably not.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon minced fresh mint
3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 tablespoons dark rum
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 pound chicken breast tenders

Directions

Place all the ingredients in a resealable plastic bag. Marinate in the refrigerator 10-15 minutes. Grill chicken and discard marinade.

Leave a Reply

