Lager and Lemon Chicken

I eat a lot of chicken.  Most people I know eat a lot of chicken.  After a while it gets pretty boring.  I’m always looking for some new way to prepare it so it doesn’t seem like the same old thing.  This weekend I was looking specifically for a grill recipe so I could kick off the summer with dinner on the patio.  I worked on some indoor projects all day so I knew I wouldn’t want to spend a lot of time on the meal and I just couldn’t face any more chicken marinated in italian dressing.  You know what I mean.

Cooking Light to the rescue yet again.  I found a recipe called Lager and Lemon Grilled Chicken.  I had some lemons that were nearing the end of their lives and too much beer in the fridge (is there such a thing?) so it sounded perfect.   The only adjustment was substituting dry herbs for fresh and using Rolling Rock instead of Bud.  Remember to use half the amount of herbs if you use dried and remember to drink the last four ounces of beer in the bottle.  Also, the boneless chicken breasts that you buy are pretty enormous so in the interest of speedy cooking and portion control I cut them horizontally.  Place your hand flat on top of the breast and slice through with a sharp knife.  Cooking these thin breasts only takes 2 minutes or so per side.

This marinade is yummy, but also subtle.  The chicken has a really wonderful citrusy flavor, but it’s not so overwhelming that you can’t re-purpose the leftovers.  This chicken would be good on salad greens; in a sandwich; or tossed in with some pasta and grilled vegetables. Kid friendly too I think.  I served it with a salad of baby field greens and white beans dressed in olive oil and lemon juice.  Add plenty of freshly ground pepper to the salad.

Good? Yep. I’ll make it again.
Easy? Yep. Gotta love ziplock bag marinating
Good for company? Sure, for a casual dinner or cookout.
Special shopping? Nope. Had everything in the house.

Lager and Lemon-Grilled Chicken

Ingredients

1 cup lager beer (such as Budweiser)
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
3 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano
1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 teaspoons honey
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
3 garlic cloves, minced
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
Cooking spray

Preparation

Combine first 10 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add chicken; seal and marinate in refrigerator 3 hours, turning bag occasionally. Remove the chicken from bag; discard marinade.

Prepare grill to medium-high.

Place chicken on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 5 minutes on each side or until done.

Leave a Reply

