Back on the Wagon

You may recall that in March I had the best of intentions to plan my weekly meals carefully so as to reduce my grocery bills and reduce the food waste in my house.  I did well for 4 or 5 weeks, but since then I’ve strayed pretty far from the path.  Around here a lack of meal planning results in some combination of undesirable outcomes:  I eat out a lot; I buy a lot of food that I never do anything with until I put it in the trash bag; and/or I have no food in the house and wind up eating whatever I can put on a hot dog bun or tortilla (cheese or peanut butter and bananas or edamame hummus).  Time to get things back under control.

I have kind of a plan this week.  I bought a lot of chicken on sale today so I’ll be eating chicken pretty much all week.  I have Chicken and Shrimp Pad Thai; Indian Cashew Chicken; and Chicken Souvlaki Salad on the list right now.  I’m pretty sure I have all the stuff to make all three.  So we’ll see how things go this week.  Of course at the moment I’m waiting for a friend to arrive so I have no idea what the dinner plan for tonight will turn out to be.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

