Sassy Salmon (sort of)

Again, I am back in the kitchen after an absence for a week of business travel.  The return is less spectacular than last week.  Of course I should let you in on a key piece of information:  I don’t really like salmon.  So why make Sassy Salmon Burgers?  It’s a little hard to say. The recipe came in my You’ve Got Supper email so I didn’t have to look for it.  I am trying to incorporate more fish into my diet, so that’s  part of it.  And lots of other people seem to like salmon a lot so occasionally I think I must be missing something.  Still not getting it.  But those of you who like salmon really should give these a try.

First, they’re made with fresh salmon.  Please stay far, far away from the canned stuff.  Second, they have an Asian flair about them so that’s a nice change up from the salmon with lemon and dill thing.  Finally, the aioli ROCKS.  Of course I made a substitution or two just out of necessity.  I had no yellow pepper so I used all red.  No big deal.  Then, I had no panko so I made some bread crumbs out of the only bread I had in the house – sandwich thins.  I don’t doubt that the panko works better, but can’t imagine that it changes the flavor much.  I never have any iceberg lettuce in the house so I used fresh spinach instead.  I think that was a step up. 

A word of advice – the finer you chop things the better the patties will hold together. And don’t crowd the pan or grill. You have to turn these pretty gently so give yourself some room.  For those of you watching your carbs I think you could serve these just as well over fresh spinach with a dollop of the aioli on top.

Good?  Probably. (See my note about not caring much for salmon).
Easy? Yes.
Good for company? I don’t think so.
Special shopping? The fresher the salmon the better.

Ingredients

• 1/2 cup(s) mayonnaise, light
• 3 clove(s) garlic, divided
• 2 tsp soy sauce, low sodium, divided
• 1/4 tsp sesame seed oil
• 1/4 cup(s) red bell pepper, diced
• 1/4 cup(s) yellow bell pepper, diced
• 1/4 cup(s) panko
• 1 lb salmon fillet(s), finely chopped
• 1 small egg(s)
• 1/4 tsp lemon juice (fresh)
• 4 hamburger buns, toasted
• 4 leaves iceberg lettuce

Directions

1. Make aioli by mixing mayo, 1 clove of garlic, 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce, and sesame oil. Cover and chill.

2. In a medium bowl, combine peppers, panko, garlic and salmon.

3. In a little bowl, combine egg, remaining soy sauce, and lemon juice. Season with salt. Gently add in salmon mixture and form into 4 patties.

4. Lightly coat grill pan with cooking spray. Over medium-high heat, grill patties for 5 minutes per side.

5. Spread aioli on toasted buns and top with patty and lettuce.

Leave a Reply

