Risotto Cakes? Um, not exactly

You may recall that I recently made Mushroom & Goat Cheese Risotto.  I love risotto and I was pretty pleased with this one.  I made the whole recipe instead of half anticipating that I would need to take a dish to book club this week.  I decided it would be  nice to make risotto cakes to take:  pretty presentation and easy to portion for 11 people.  It was a good plan.  Poorly implemented.

I was running pretty late getting home from work so I only had about 15 minutes to cook the risotto cakes.  I did manage to prepare them the night before.  Into a pan and 3 minutes on each side, easily leaving 5 minutes to change clothes and feed the dog.  Um, not exactly.  They were a messy disaster.  Perhaps one actual cake produced in the whole bunch of 15 placed in the pan in 2 batches.  I think my mistake was using a cast iron pan.  I wanted them to have a lovely brown color on both sides and I normally use cast iron for browning.  Risotto cakes are way too delicate for that.  You be better off in this case using a non-stick pan.  If you opt to use cast iron at least do yourself the favor of using a metal spatula.  Since the cakes were sticking to the pan a little a plastic spatula did nothing but tear them up.

Still, the risotto tasted good with a little extra browned cheese scattered throughout the dish.  Fortunately book club folks are hearty eaters and not picky about presentation.  Probably didn’t hurt that there were 10 other dishes to choose from as well!

The final analysis?
Good? Conceptually speaking, yes. And if the risotto is good the flavor will always be good.
Easy? Seems like they should be. I’ve learned a few lessons and hope they’ll be easy next time.
Good for company? Only if you feel very confident in a) your ability to execute this much more successfully than I or b) you have very forgiving friends. It’s good that you can use leftover risotto and form the cakes the day before.
Special shopping? Nope. This is leftovers, just prettied up.

2 Responses to “Risotto Cakes? Um, not exactly”

  1. Brandy Says:

    I thought they were delicious.

Leave a Reply

