Dinner in a Bowl

So, so, so, so good!  That’s my assessment of dinner tonight.  If you refer to the Savings Plan menu for this week you’ll see that I was supposed to make Chicken Noodle Bowl with Edamame and Snap Pea Salad.  I bailed on the salad, but that works out because the snap peas are frozen so they’ll keep.  I did make the noodle bowl and did I mention that it’s so, so, so, so good? 

I left out the mushrooms because canned mushrooms, even straw mushrooms, don’t do it for me.  I used the rest of the edamame from a bean salad I made earlier in the week and finished up the cilantro I bought for the enchiladas I made on Saturday.  Very little waste this week.  I had some shredded chicken frozen in stock that was perfect.   Using chicken that’s already cooked reduces the cooking time a little and makes the whole process a little easier.  No worries about cross contamination.  As usual I strongly recommend making your own stock.  Especially in light soups like this one the quality of the stock is the key to the whole thing.  A few squeezes of fresh lime juice at the end are a must.  Another Cooking Light success.  If you’re not getting this magazine it’s really worth it.

Good?  So, so, so, so good.
Easy?  Yep. I just love one pot dinners.
Good for company?  I don’t normally recommend noodle soups for dinner parties, but with very good friends I’d make an exception for this.
Special shopping?  Lemongrass is likely not something you keep on hand, but necessary.

Chicken Noodle Bowl with Edamame and Straw Mushrooms

Ingredients

  • 2  peeled fresh lemongrass stalks
  • 6  cups chicken broth (make your own if you can)
  • 1  (1-inch) piece peeled fresh ginger, thinly sliced
  • 5  ounces  uncooked wide rice sticks (rice-flour noodles)
  • 12  ounces  roasted, shredded chicken
  • 2  cups  frozen blanched shelled edamame (green soybeans), thawed
  • 1/3  cup  diagonally cut carrot
  • 1  tablespoon  low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2  cup  loosely packed cilantro leaves
  • Lime wedges

Preparation

Lightly crush lemongrass using the side of a knife; slice stalks into 2-inch pieces. Combine lemongrass pieces, broth, and ginger in a large saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, and simmer 45 minutes. Remove lemongrass pieces and ginger using a slotted spoon; discard.

Cook noodles according to package directions; drain and set aside.

Add chicken strips to broth; increase heat to medium, and cook 5 minutes. Add edamame, carrot, soy sauce, and mushrooms; cook 5 minutes or until chicken is done. Remove from heat; stir in cilantro and green onions.

Divide the rice noodles evenly among each of 5 soup bowls. Ladle chicken mixture over noodles. Garnish with lime wedges, if desired.

Leave a Reply

