Leftovers?

Hello all.  It’s not that I’ve given up cooking, but it seems that I’m rarely here these days.   I thought it might be nice to let you know which recipes I’ve posted so far were good enough that I ate all the leftovers and which ones ended up in the trash, at least in part.

 I just returned from a couple of days in Boston to find a VERY empty fridge.  The lunch prospects were looking pretty bleak.  Fortunately a little while back I made another batch of the Sausage, Spinach and White Bean soup (the recipe that started this whole thing) and decided to see how well it would freeze.  I made it with half the sausage and twice the spinach and beans as last time.  It was excellent!  And it freezes beautifully! 

Butternut Squash Soup:  the flavor was good, but it was too runny for me and frankly there was too much of it.  A bunch of it ended up down the sink.

Mac & Cheddar Cheese with Chicken and Broccoli:  Ate every bite!  The cheese sauce was mixed in well enough that it reheated well in the microwave.

Yogurt Cheese with Olive Tapenade:  I ate this on Wheat Thins for days.  It actually held up really well without getting runny.  A lovely snack to take the edge off while I was finishing up some work or making a dinner plan.

Asian Chicken Noodle Soup:  I ate all of this and it was good, but I was pretty over it by the end.  I didn’t think it would freeze well.

Shrimp and Grits:  I finished these leftovers in pretty short order.  I may never make this recipe again, but only because there are so many Shrimp and Grits recipes out there to try!

Tilapia with Spinach and Tomatoes:  My recommendation when making fish is to have as few leftovers as possible.  I’ll eat leftover fish the next day, but rarely after that.  There were only two servings of this so I did eat the leftovers the next day and it reheated really well.

Fish Sticks:  As with a lot of crunchy things, these were really hard to reheat in a way that made them appetizing at all, so I didn’t eat these.

Sri Lankan Chicken Curry:  YUM!  This was better the second day and still really good the third and fourth days.  It does get a little runny, but stir it up good and you won’t even notice.

Chicken Francese:  So, so good that I was sad I only made two servings of this.

 I’ll be back to cooking again soon.  I’ll be back to grocery shopping too, but I’m going to try to limit my purchases to the produce section and to replacing some of the staples I used up during February.  I still have a lot of protein in the freezer so I’ll keep using that.  So there you have it.  The leftovers review.  Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

