Laissez les bon temps…

Happy Mardi Gras all!  Yes, I know this isn’t really an event you can celebrate a day late given the beginning of the Lenten season, but still.  I hosted book club this week and thought a little Mardi Gras atmosphere was in order.  I decided to make Shrimp Creole.  Now, it’s going to be a little difficult to convey a recipe because I used a pint of creole sauce that I made from my garden vegetables and canned in August.  I could just tell you to pour a jar of creole sauce in a pan, add some shrimp and serve with rice.  That doesn’t seem overly helpful.  I’ve decided to give you the recipe for the creole sauce from the Ball home preserving book that is my summer canning Bible.  Certainly you can make it and just use it with no canning necessary.  Here also is a link to a Paula Deen recipe for Shrimp Creole that sounds good to me.

Good?  Yep.  Not many leftovers!
Easy? Definitely. I used frozen peeled, deveined shrimp to make it even easier.
Good for company? It passed the book club test! Easy to do mostly ahead of time so you don’t waste party time in the kitchen.
Special shopping? Only if you choose to use fresh shrimp.

Bear in mind that this recipe was designed for canning so it makes 9 cups.  Half a recipe will be enough to feed a crowd.  I imagine it freezes just fine too.  It’s a thin sauce so feel free to add a little tomato paste if you prefer a thicker sauce.  Also, if you use fresh tomatoes you’re likely to need more salt than the recipe calls for.

Creole Sauce

11 C diced peeled tomatoes
1 green pepper, diced
1 C onions, chopped
4T red wine vinegar
3 cloves garlic, minced
2T worcestershire
1T dried oregano
2t tabasco
1t black pepper
1/2t salt
1/2t cayenne

Combine ingredients in a large pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered 30-40 minutes.
See Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving for instructions on canning.

Leave a Reply

