Grab Your Passport!

I have finally returned from cold and rainy Florida to the colder and snowy mid-Atlantic.  A trip to India in my kitchen seemed like the perfect solution to some winter blahs.  I am so glad to get back in the kitchen after a week of business meeting food.  The February Challenge continues so no grocery shopping and after a week away really not a remnant left in the fridge.  It takes a little extra planning to cook this way, but I think it will be worth it.  I set out some chicken to thaw and piled onto the couch with a bunch of cookbooks.  I have a fantastic book of curries by Corinne Trang called Curry Cuisine.  If you like curry check out this cookbook.  It covers the globe of curries:  Thai, Indian, Vietnamese, Indonesian, British, etc.

It took a few minutes to find a recipe for which I had all the ingredients, but settled on Kukul mus kari – Sri Lankan Chicken Curry.  I made the recipe almost exactly as written since I have only a little experience with various curries and no experience with Sri Lankan cuisine.  It’s rarely safe to make many substitutions in recipe families that are unfamiliar.  I did use minced ginger from a jar.  Also, the recipe called for two tomatoes, quartered.  I can’t buy fresh tomatoes this month and frankly winter tomatoes here are terrible.  Instead I used half a pint jar of tomatoes I canned last summer.  The texture is different, but the taste vastly superior.  I think using the whole pint would have been good too.  I really like the tomato flavor in this.  I served it over white rice and topped it with a little sweetened, shredded coconut.  The flavor is bold, but not spicy hot so you don’t need additional condiments to cool the spice.  If you want a spicier flavor just use a hotter chili powder.  This is a soupy curry so feel free to serve in a bowl without rice, but you’ll want to have bread to soak up all the sauce. Yum!

Good?  YES!  So, so good.
Easy? Yes. You only have to chop a few items.
Good for company? Absolutely. Serve it with naan and cucumber raita.
Special shopping? Likely you’ll need to get a can of coconut milk.

Kukul mus kari (Sri Lankan Chicken Curry)

Ingredients:
3T vegetable oil
2 onions finely sliced
1T minced ginger
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2t ground turmeric
1t chili powder
2t ground garam masala
12oz chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces
1 1/4C water
3/4C coconut milk
1/2 14oz. can diced tomatoes

Directions
Heat the oil in a pan. Add onions and cook to golden brown. Add ginger, garlic and spices. Stir for one minute. Add the chicken. Cook five minutes. Pour in water. Bring to a boil. Cover. Reduce heat to medium. Cook 10 minutes.
Turn heat to low. Add coconut milk. Cook 10 more minutes. Add tomatoes. Cook 5 more minutes. Serve hot over rice or with bread.

One Response to “Grab Your Passport!”

  1. Evelyn Says:

    My Sri Lankan roots thank you! I love chicken curry but alas, I have two people at home who will say “What is that awful smell?” should I even attempt to make curry … they are both Philistines!

Leave a Reply

