Soup’s on

Sausage, Escarole, and White Bean Ragout

What you see below is the way I made it.  Use the link above to see it as originally intended in Cooking Light magazine.  It’s not so much a ragout as a soup (not that I know much about it, but it seems like a ragout would be thicker).  I’m low-carbing it right now so I took out the potatoes.  I had fresh spinach so I used that instead of escarole.  I didn’t have any rosemary so I left it out.  Honestly it could have used either half the sausage or twice the amount of everything else.  That would cut the cost and the calories.
Good? YES
Easy? YES, and only one dirty pot
Good for company? YES, make it ahead and reheat.
Special Shopping? NOPE

Kudos to Faith Farms on the sausage.  It’s my favorite!  I get it at a local farmer’s market.  I bought extra in October so I’d have some for the freezer.  Lucky me!

Ingredients

  • 12  ounces  sweet Italian sausage
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  cup  chopped onion
  • 1/3  cup  chardonnay or other dry white wine
  • 1  tablespoon  bottled minced garlic
  • 1  (16-ounce) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups chicken broth (I make my own.  It matters in soup I think).
  • 4  cups  sliced spinach (about 4 ounces)
  • 2  tablespoons  grated fresh Parmesan cheese
  • Preparation

    Remove casings from sausage.

    Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add Italian sausage and onion to pan, and cook for 4 minutes or until sausage browns, stirring to crumble.  Remove sausage and onion to paper towels to drain.  Empty any excess grease from the pot.  Return sausage and onions to the pot.  Stir in wine, garlic, beans, and chicken broth; bring to a simmer. Cover and cook 7 minutes. Stir in spinach and cook for 4 minutes or until the spinach wilts, stirring occasionally. Ladle soup into shallow bowls, and sprinkle each serving evenly with 1 1/2 teaspoons cheese.

    One Response to “Soup’s on”

    1. forsythkid Says:

      This recipe looks pretty interesting. It also looks like something you could experiment with in terms of ingredients. Thanks! I’ll give this one a try.

    Leave a Reply

